A professional society dedicated to fostering and promoting research, education, and communication in the scientific understanding of seeds.


For enquiries and further information about the Society, in the first instance please contact the ISSS Secretary:

Peter Toorop
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
Wellcome Trust Millennium Building
Wakehurst Place
Ardingly, Haywards Heath
West Sussex, RH17 6TN
United Kingdom
Phone: 01444 894157
Fax: 01444 894110

You can also contact the ISSS President:

Professeur Françoise Corbineau
Sorbonne Universités
Université Pierre et Marie Curie
Paris France

For queries specifically related to a region or special interest group, please contact the appropriate Regional Representative, listed below:

Regional representatives

  • Jose Barrero (Australia) for Australia and New Zealand (Jose.Barrero@csiro.au)
  • vacant – for Middle/Western Asia
  • George Bassel (UK) for UK and Eire (g.w.bassel@bham.ac.uk)
  • Amaral da Silva (Brazil) for Central and South America (amaraldasilva@fca.unesp.br)
  • Yitzchak Gutterman ( Israel) for Middle East (gutterma@bgumail.bgu.ac.il)
  • Norman Pammenter (South Africa) for Africa (pammente@ukzn.ac.za)
  • Olivier Leprince (France) for Western Europe and Scandinavia (olivier.leprince@agrocampus-ouest.fr)
  • Elwira Sliwinska (Poland) for Eastern Europe and Russia (elwira@utp.edu.pl)
  • Song-Quan Song (China) for China and Japan (sqsong@ibcas.ac.cn)
  • Christina Walters (USA) for North America (Christina.Walters@ars.usda.gov)

 Organizational representative

  • Alison Powell (UK) for ISTA (a.a.powell@abdn.ac.uk)
  • Greg Welbaum (USA) for ISHS (welbaum@vt.edu )

Corporate representative

  • Brigitte Hamman (Switzerland) (brigitte.hamman@syngenta.com)


Become an ISSS Member

Members of the ISSS are eligible for:

  • reduced registration fees for ISSS sponsored meetings
  • reduced prices on purchases of books published by CAB International (CABI)

Find out more »

Latest News »