A professional society dedicated to fostering and promoting research, education, and communication in the scientific understanding of seeds.


For enquiries and further information about the Society, in the first instance please contact the ISSS President-Elect:

Julia Buitink
Institut de Recherche en Horticulture et Semences

You can also contact the ISSS President:

Henk Hilhorst
Wageningen University
E-mail: henk.hilhorst@wur.nl

For queries specifically related to a region or special interest group, please contact the appropriate Regional Representative, listed below:

Regional representatives

  • Jose Barrero (Australia) for Australia and New Zealand (Jose.Barrero@csiro.au)
  • vacant – for Middle/Western Asia
  • George Bassel (UK) for UK and Eire (g.w.bassel@bham.ac.uk)
  • Amaral da Silva (Brazil) for Central and South America (amaraldasilva@fca.unesp.br)
  • Yitzchak Gutterman ( Israel) for Middle East (gutterma@bgumail.bgu.ac.il)
  • Norman Pammenter (South Africa) for Africa (pammente@ukzn.ac.za)
  • Olivier Leprince (France) for Western Europe and Scandinavia (olivier.leprince@agrocampus-ouest.fr)
  • Elwira Sliwinska (Poland) for Eastern Europe and Russia (elwira@utp.edu.pl)
  • Song-Quan Song (China) for China and Japan (sqsong@ibcas.ac.cn)
  • Christina Walters (USA) for North America (Christina.Walters@ars.usda.gov)

 Organizational representative

  • Alison Powell (UK) for ISTA (a.a.powell@abdn.ac.uk)
  • Greg Welbaum (USA) for ISHS (welbaum@vt.edu )

Corporate representative

  • Brigitte Hamman (Switzerland) (brigitte.hamman@syngenta.com)

Become an ISSS Member

  • Members of the ISSS are eligible for reduced registration fees for ISSS sponsored meetings

Find out more »

Renew your membership or update your details »

For information on ISSS membership, contact:

Louise Colville
Email: l.colville@kew.org

Latest News »